Latest News
  • 25/03/2014 Goodbye to the old website...

  • 13/03/2014 Celebration of Life - Professor Sanjay Datta MBBS

  • 14/12/2013 Website Upgrade


Oral & ePoster Presentation



View the Oral presentations timetable

View the instructions for oral presenters


View results on abstract system 




As last year, poster submissions are only displayed as “ePosters” (electronic posters that are submitted online, and displayed at the meeting via plasma screen displays).

See the ePoster loading instructions

It is intended that all presenting authors will be timetabled to present their ePosters to moderators and delegates.    Details will be provided on this page.

Free WiFi access will be available during the meeting, and all the ePosters will also be available for easy on-line viewing via laptop or tablet computers and by smartphone. As well as being able to browse ePosters on the display screens, desktops will now also be available at the conference centre for delegates who wish to browse the ePoster submissions at their leisure. 





  • Any messages relating to abstracts should be sent via the abstract system (see below).
    (click the 'view results' link below and use the 'Login' on the navigation bar to access your 'contact' button)


  • In the case of a presentation by a trainee, the supervising author (or a nominated substitute) must be present during presentation of the abstract to answer any questions.  


Letter from Robin Russell

I would like to thank all those who submitted abstracts to the OAA’s 2014 Obstetric Anaesthesia meeting in Dublin. This year we received 288 abstracts, a similar number to last year. Each abstract has been marked by at least four assessors; scores have been calculated following which oral and poster presentations have been awarded.

Twelve abstracts have been awarded an oral presentation. These will be presented in two sessions at the Dublin meeting each containing six abstracts. This year 200 posters will be presented. So overall, 74% of this year’s submissions are to be presented at the meeting. The top 100 abstracts will appear in the IJOA Supplement which will be available at the meeting.

In keeping with current importance of research governance, we again insisted that projects were approved by either an ethics or audit committee or by the local Caldecott Guardian. The number of submissions not following these guidelines was much reduced compared to last year, although several were rejected where this was not clearly stated. As in previous years we have not accepted case reports without confirmation of written consent.

Given the large number of submissions it is not possible to give individual feedback to authors whose abstracts have not been accepted. We would suggest that unsuccessful authors contact members of their department with experience in publication who will hopefully be able to offer suitable and constructive advice on how to improve their work.

Finally, I would like to thank all those who helped with the marking: Gary Stocks, Daryl Dob, Matt Rucklidge, Nuala Lucas, Neville Robinson, Vanessa Skelton, Mark Scrutton, Christina Laxton, Nicholas Wharton, John Loughrey, Niamh Hayes and Conan McCaul. I would also like to express my gratitude to Trisha Hawkins and the technicians at Fast Floor Multimedia Ltd for their assistance with the abstract process.

Robin Russell 


View abstracts  accepted for previous meetings